African literature 


Chinua Achebe (Nigeria)

Chinua Achebe was a Nigerian novelist, poet, and professor. He is best known for his novel "Things Fall Apart", which is considered a classic of modern African literature. Achebe's writing often explored the complexities of Nigerian society, particularly the clash between traditional African values and the influence of Western culture. Throughout his career, Achebe was a strong advocate for African literature and played a key role in bringing African literature to a global audience. He received numerous awards for his work, including the Man Booker International Prize and the Commonwealth Writers' Prize. Achebe's legacy continues to inspire writers and readers around the world.


“Things Fall Apart”


Amos Tutuola (Nigeria)

Amos Tutuola was a Nigerian writer who gained international recognition for his unique style of storytelling. He was born in Abeokuta, Nigeria in 1920 and grew up in a Yoruba community. Tutuola's writing was heavily influenced by the oral tradition of his culture, and he often incorporated elements of African folklore and mythology into his stories.

Tutuola's first novel, "The Palm-Wine Drinkard," was published in 1952 and quickly became a sensation both in Nigeria and abroad. The book tells the story of a young man who embarks on a quest to find his deceased father in the afterlife, encountering a series of fantastical creatures and obstacles along the way.

Tutuola went on to write several more novels and short stories, including "My Life in the Bush of Ghosts" and "The Witch Herbalist of the Remote Town." His work was praised for its vivid imagery, imaginative storytelling, and unique blend of Yoruba mythology and modernist literary techniques.

Despite facing criticism from some Nigerian intellectuals who viewed his work as too "primitive" or "unrefined," Tutuola remained a beloved figure in both Nigeria and the wider literary world. He passed away in 1997, leaving behind a legacy as one of Nigeria's most celebrated and influential writers.


"My Life in the Bush of Ghosts"

“The Palm Wine Drinkard”


Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a renowned Nigerian author and feminist. She was born on September 15, 1977, in Enugu, Nigeria. Adichie's literary works address issues of feminism, race, identity, and culture. She has won numerous awards for her writing, including the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Adichie is also a highly sought-after speaker, and her TED Talk on the danger of a single story has been viewed millions of times. In her talks and interviews, Adichie advocates for equality and inclusivity, encouraging people to embrace diversity and challenge stereotypes.

Despite her success, Adichie remains humble and grounded, and she continues to use her platform to advocate for social justice. She is a true inspiration and a role model for women and girls everywhere.


“Purple Hibiscus”




Camara Laye (Guinea)

Camara Laye was a Guinean writer who was born in Kouroussa in 1928. He was known for his literary works that portrayed the traditional way of life in Guinea. Laye's most famous book was "L'enfant noir" or "The African Child" which was published in 1953. The book was an autobiographical novel that chronicled his childhood experiences in Kouroussa. Laye was also a strong advocate for African cultural identity and unity. He believed that it was important for Africans to embrace their traditional values and customs while also embracing modernity. Laye passed away in 1980 in Dakar, Senegal, but his legacy as a pioneering African writer lives on.


“The Dark Child”
“The Radiance of the King”


Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe)

Tsitsi Dangarembga is a renowned author from Zimbabwe. She is known for her powerful and thought-provoking works that highlight social and political issues in Zimbabwe. Her most famous novel, "Nervous Conditions," has become a classic in African literature.

Dangarembga is not only a talented writer but also an activist. She advocates for equal rights and opportunities for women and girls in Zimbabwe. In 2020, she was arrested during a peaceful protest calling for political and economic reforms in Zimbabwe. Despite the challenges she has faced, Dangarembga continues to inspire others through her words and actions.

Her contributions to literature and activism have earned her numerous accolades, including the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and the PEN Pinter Prize. Dangarembga's work serves as a reminder that words have the power to effect change and inspire a better world.


"Nervous Conditions,"

"The Book of Not,"

"This Mournable Body,"


Petina Grappah (Zimbabwe)

Petina Grappah is a Zimbabwean author and academic who has made significant contributions to the literary world. Her work is known for its rich portrayal of African culture and its ability to explore complex social issues with nuance and sensitivity. Grappah has published several highly acclaimed novels and short story collections, including "An Elegy for Easterly" and "The Book of Memory." In addition to her writing, Grappah is also a respected academic who has taught at universities around the world. Her work has earned her numerous accolades, including the Guardian First Book Award and the Caine Prize for African Writing. As a trailblazer in the African literary scene, Petina Grappah has inspired countless readers and writers with her powerful voice and her dedication to telling stories that matter.


“The Book of Memory”
“Out of Darkness, Shining Light


Olaudah Equiano (Nigerian)

Olaudah Equiano, born in 1745 in what is now Nigeria, was kidnapped at the age of eleven and sold into slavery. He served as a slave on various slave ships and British navy vessels, traveling to different places including VirginiaEnglandHollandScotland, and the Caribbean. Eventually, he was purchased by a Quaker merchant named Robert King, who allowed Equiano to engage in minor trade exchanges and save money to buy his freedom in 1766. Equiano settled in England, attended school, and worked as an assistant to a scientist. He continued to travel on trading vessels to various countries such as TurkeyPortugalItalyJamaica, and North America. In 1773, he joined a polar expedition in search of a northeast passage from Europe to Asia. Equiano published his autobiography, “The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, of Gustavus Vassa, the African”


“The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, of Gustavus Vassa, the African”